‘Wheel of Fortune’ Contestant Stunned After Cringeworthy ‘Correct’ Guess


Things took a sudden turn for a once-confident “Wheel of Fortune” contestant when he lost a puzzle on a technicality.

The turn of events during Monday’s episode ring with the kind of sheer disappointment that can only come from 2020. You have to feel for this guy, but the rules are the rules and Pat Sajak was just doing his job.

It all went down on the last group puzzle before the final round. Contestant Alex, already well in the lead, tried to put the nail in the coffin with a poetic solve. He would have had it too, if it wasn’t for one little contraction…

With 12 of the 16 letters already on the board, Alex put his hands in the air, smiled and answered “I’m declaring victory.” There was just one problem: there was no “I’m” in the puzzle solution, it was just “declaring victory.”

Die-hard “Wheel” fans caught it as soon as it happened and were quick to pounce on social media, as Pat Sajak had to let Alex down easy and remind him that you can’t add words to the solve.

Ultimately, Alex did finish in first place and, although he didn’t solve the final puzzle, he did get to declare at least some level of victory. So, there’s that.

Here are some of the reactions from social media, as the moment went viral:

(PHOTO: Getty Images)